Cooking up a disaster

I like to call my parents when I’m walking, and this morning was no exception. I told him about my weekend plans, coconut smashing included.

My dad paused a little before replying to what I had just said.

“You know that’s one of the hardest dishes to make, right?”

I felt a little bit of trepidation. But, as is usually the case when I’m about to do something I don’t really know all that much about, I plucked up my feathers and played the confidence card.

“Of course, Dad. I got the recipe from a Barranquillera,” I replied.

I was sure this was going to work.

But lo and behold, we failed. We didn’t get the right number of coconuts; I forgot my grater,and then we didn’t get enough milk from what we had. I found out making a traditional dish is hard work.

The best part was laughing each step of the way. We’re about to head out to share the concoction we made with our friends.  Check out some pictures from the fiasco:

So here are a few tips if you want to make some coconut rice.

  1. Get the right number of coconuts for the amount of rice you’re going to make.
  2. Break the coconut into small pieces and use a fine grater.
  3. Have a back up plan ready to go before you start. It’s terribly tedious to head out to the store once you’re cooking.
  4. Enjoy the experience! And the smells.
  5. Try it again! And maybe you won’t fail.
Leave a Reply

