Press Pause: Reflection

Recently, I’ve hit a high point in my reporting class: I know, with more certainty and clarity than ever before, that I want to work in radio. Through my last team story on Latinos in Mexico, Missouri (what a coincidence, right?), I realized I can tap into untold stories of a whole population of people, here in the United States and abroad.

So when a friend told me about Radio Ambulante, a non-for-profit Latin American version of WBEZ’s This American Life, I saw my ideal reporting career flash before my eyes: telling long-form radio stories about all aspects of Latin America, policy, culture and people. I think I’d be more than happy with that.

I don’t know where that kind of reporting would take me in South America or the United States. But that’s one of the coolest parts about journalism: You’re only certain you’ll be telling stories, never of where, who or what about.

There’s a lot I have to learn and experience before I get to that point. But as I perused Radio Amublante’s website, and stumbled upon their pitch form, I paused.

It looked almost exactly the same as the one we use in my reporting class.

(I suppose my college investment might just pay off in the future.) Pitching a story well is perhaps one of the greatest takeaways I will have from my time at the journalism school. This gets me excited about the things I’ll be able to do later down the road. Even after 9 weeks in this class, I know I’ve made huge strides in the way I approach a story, the questions I ask and the way I write a script.

If anything, this class has taught me to pay attention and take opportunities, challenges and risks head on.

So as I as I scrolled through some of the stories they’ve done so far, I thought to myself: Can I work here one day?

I’d love to. And after I graduate, I think I’ll have the skill set, drive and knowledge to start somewhere. When I think about the reach Radio Ambulante has (airing throughout various Latin American countries, the US and online). This is what gets me pumped to work through a challenging reporting class. If anything, looking expectantly toward the future makes the present challenges and success seem that much more valuable.

Leave a Reply

